View
 

Veterans, Service Members and Their Families

Subject Guides

 

 

 

 

Databases 

 

 

America's News Magazines

America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover". Of particular interest to veterans and military personnel is full text access to Foreign Affairs, Newsweek, Slate, and Stateline.org.  For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.

 

General Onefile

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Full text access to Airman, CQ Weekly, DAV Magazine, Military Review, Mother Jones, National Review, The Officer, The Progressive, and Weekly Standard. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.  Virtual Tour

 

Infotrac Newsstand

With InfoTrac Newsstand you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers. For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number. This database is made available through NOVEL: New York Online Virtual Electronic Library. NOVEL Databases is an electronic database access project provided by the New York State Library that enables libraries across New York State to give their communities online access to the full text of hundreds of journals, newspapers and other references.

 

MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier is an excellent resource which contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more, including American Journal of Public Health, Army Sustainment, GAO Reports, Marines, Military History, Naval History, Sea Power, Soldiers, Smithsonian, Washington Monthly, and World War II.  For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.   Virtual Tour

 

 

Web Sites 

 

Military Homefront

The Department of Defense's website to assist military personnel and their families.  The banner link to "Service Providers" addresses financial, housing, educational, healthcare, and parenting issues, provides counseling and financial management programs.

 

New York State Division of Veterans Affairs 

Information on New York State benefits towards education, real estate property tax reductions, employment and training assistance, disabled veteran fee-exempt E-Pass applications.

 

U.S. Department of Justice's Servicemember Civil Relief Act

Provides information on the Federal law protecting the civil rights of military personnel as they enter active service.  A legal services locator is available through the site at http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php

 

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Benefits

Information on VA education and training benefits, housing, mortgage loans, and life insurance.

 

 

Community and Local Links 

 

Erie County Veterans Service Agency

Local assistance for veterans in filing claims for benefits, presenting appeals when claims are denied, and navigating the Department of Veterans Affairs bureaucracy. Scroll down and select the link to "Links and Resources" for instructions and applications for New York State tuition awards, VA home loan forms, and requesting copies of  veteran military records.

 

Erie County Veterans Service Agency Veterans Tax Break webpage

Honorably discharged veterans may qualify for a 10% to 35% reduction of their residential real estate tax.  This webpage provides instructions on eligibility and how to apply.

 

VA Western New York Healthcare System

Provides an overview to the physicians and services available through the VA Hospital.

 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

 

Employment for veterans 

Legal rights and benefits for veterans 

Legal rights for service personnel and their families

Medical care for veterans

Mental health issues for veterans

Services for veterans

Support for families of servicemen & women

 

 

back to top^