View
 

Cars, Trucks, RVs and Motorcycles

Subject Guides

 

 Car

 

Databases 

 

All Data Auto Repair

AllData provides comprehensive automotive repair information including electronic wiring diagrams, technical service bulletins and a technician's reference guide. For use at the Central Library only.

  

Chilton Library

provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks. For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.   Virtual Tour

 

Consumer Reports

Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present. For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.  Virtual Tour

 

General Onefile

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of automobile and truck topics from magazines such as ATV Rider, Automotive News, AutoWeek, Commercial Motor, Cycle World, Fleet Owner, Petersen's 4 Wheel & Off Road, and RV Business. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.   Virtual Tour

 

MasterFILE Premier

A consumer’s best source of information comes from product reviews and comparisons. Before you buy, compare products and services the best you can. A little bit of research could save you a lot of grief and money. MasterFILE Premier is an excellent resource for car, motorcycle, RV and truck information with full-text access to Dealernews, Dirt Bike, DIRTSports, Fleet Equipment, Forbes, Kiplinger's Personal Finance, Money, Motor Age, Overdrive, Popular Mechanics, and Qualified Remodeler.  For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.   Virtual Tour

 

 

Web Sites 

 

AutoTrader.com

Find new and used car prices for online and local car dealers, trade-in values, plus reviews for new makes and models.

 

Kelley Blue Book

Provides pricing information on new and used vehicles based on features, condition, and mileage.   Select the “Research Tools” tab and scroll down to “Loan & Insurance” to calculate monthly payments.    Do not press the “Apply Now’ button unless you wish to apply for a loan.

 

National Automobile Dealers Association

Get price information for new and used cars, boats, motorcycles, RVs and mobile homes based on features, condition, and mileage.   The link to Autotrader.com provides dealer and private seller prices in your area. 

 

 The National Highway Safety Administration 

The tab for “Driving Safety” presents issues and legislation on traffic safety and law enforcement.  “Vehicle Safety” provides a link to http://www.safercar.gov/ where you can find crash ratings, child safety seats, and product recalls.

 

New York State Insurance Department

Choose the "Consumer" tab for information on automobile insurance and filing complaints against insurance carriers.

 

U.S. Department of Energy Fuel Economy site

Find MPG ratings for automobiles.   Scroll down to “Save Money” and select the link for Find the Cheapest Gas.   The link for State and Metro Gas Prices takes you to the cheapest prices in the area. Below the map for Today's AAA State Averages there is a link to a calculator so you can figure out the cost for your next road trip.

 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

 

Alternative fuel vehicles

Automobile insurance 

Automobile purchasing

Automobile repair

Motorcycle customizing

Motorcycle repair

Pickup trucks

Recreational vehicles

Sport utility vehicles

Truck repair

 

 

back to top^